Studies of Modern Society: 1798 to the Present

Institution: The Cooper Union for the Advancement of Science and Art, New York 

Department: Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences

Course-level: Undergraduate course

Format: Seminar

Description: In this course I introduce students to major political thinkers, from the French Revolution to the present, who have contributed to shaping the Western imagination: Kant, Rousseau, Wollstonecraft, Hegel, De Toqueville, Le Bon, Freud, Weber, Arendt, De Beauvoir, Fanon, and Adorno. We critically assess the theoretical positions of these thinkers and place them in the historical, social and political contexts in which their thoughts emerged.